Community Development & Planning
Home » Department » Community Development & Planning » Planning Commission

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is composed of seven members, all of whom are appointed by the Town Council and sworn by the Isle of Wight County Circuit Court to serve staggered four year terms.  The PC is enabled through the Smithfield Zoning Ordinance (SZO), as well as Code of Virginia Title 15.2, Chapter 22, Article 2 to perform (in summary) the following duties:

The Planning Commission is comprised of the following members, one of whom must also serve on the Town Council:

For information on the PC's previous and upcoming activities, please see the agenda packets and minutes tabs of this page.

Please remember that, in order to appear on a PC meeting agenda, Town staff must receive all necessary applications, fees, and other materials no less than three weeks prior to the date of the next scheduled PC meeting.  The PC is typically scheduled to meet on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:30 PM in the Smithfield Center, 220 N Church St, Smithfield, VA 23430. 

Please direct all inquiries concerning the PC to Tammie Clary, Community Development & Planning Director- Tammie is the designated staff member contact for the PC.  Tammie can be reached via email (, telephone (1-(757)-365-4200), or mail (PO Box 246, Smithfield, VA 23431).

2022 PC membership, from left to right: Mr. Swecker, Dr. Pope, Mr. Torrey, Chair Bryan, Vice-Chair Hillegass, Mr. Pack, and Mr. Gibbs.

Here are some helpful links:

 Appeals Application

Code of Virginia Title 15.2, Chapter 22, Article 2

Entrance Corridor Overlay Design Review Application

Planning Commission Application

Isle of Wight County Circuit Court

Smithfield Center (Official Website)

Smithfield Comprehensive Plan

Smithfield Events Calendar

Smithfield Planning Commission Agenda Packets

Smithfield Planning Commission Bylaws

Smithfield Planning Commission Minutes

Smithfield Town Council

Smithfield Zoning Ordinance